In fifth grade I decided I wanted to be a famous actor (emphasis on famous, not talented).  Our class was presenting a play for the rest of the grades as well as for the local public library.  The play was called “The Miss Witch Contest.”  The best parts were the witches, and the roles for boys were rather limited.  If I had wanted I could have played Mr. Skeleton, but I was more ambitious than that.  I decided to try out for the much coveted role of the Queen Witch.  I asked my teacher if anyone could try for the lead role.  She thought a minute, then checked with her best friend, the fourth grade teacher who said, “Sure, why not.”  I think my teacher Mrs. Clark might have been placating me at first, but with my cackle and scary presentation, I landed the much sought after role of the Queen Witch, much to the chagrin of Mindy and Heather.  I must say, I think I made a particularly scary witch.  I had long wanted to be a witch for Halloween, but my mom had worried about what people might say.  How often in life do we limit ourselves because of what others might think or say? 

In the end, I lived out my dream after all.  Mrs. Clark saw some talent in me and she encouraged me to try out for the musical “Oliver,” produced by our local community theater.  I sang Happy Birthday and apparently sang on tune because I landed a role as an orphan and one of Fagin’s street gang boys.  At least the roles for men in that show were as compelling as the women’s roles.  Interestingly, in a bit of role reversal, a girl was cast as the Artful Dodger (I certainly don’t mind women who stretch the boundaries as much as men).

On the show Glee, one of the main actors, Chris Colfer, an openly gay actor, has said that in his hometown show choir he had hoped to sing the song, “Defying Gravity,” the main song by the Wicked Witch of the West.  His school turned him down, but Glee gave him the forum to live out his dream, letting him sing the song.

I’ve never gravitated toward female impersonation, but I have just sought out the most interesting roles.  I was watching the movie “Burlesque” last night, and noticed that Christina Aguilera had numerous wig changes and I wondered why it is that she and Rihanna (with her red wig), and even Cher are allowed to enhance and switch up their appearance by wearing wigs as well as hair extensions.  Any woman willing to hand over some cash can reinvent themselves.  Men are not allowed to play with their looks in this way.  Despite the short-lived metrosexual phenomenon,  men are judged for enhancing their looks in a way women are not.  Often, even something as simple as wearing a baseball cap can be interpreted to mean that the man wearing the hat may, in fact, be losing his hair, and is ashamed of his appearance.

Donald Trump already defies the rules of fashion by creating his own rather peculiar look, but I’m looking for a great look, not a fashion faux pas.  If Burt Reynolds and Ted Danson can fool the public why shouldn’t the average man?

I say wigs for everyone.

