A 100 year old named Fauja Singh completed his eighth marathon and walked his way into the record books.  He first ran a marathon at 89, and hasn’t stopped since.  Perhaps he feels death is overrated, and he doesn’t want to use his age as a reason to stop running.  He carried a torch in the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, and hopes to be part of the torch relay for the 2012 London Games.

Is it really all a kind of mind over matter?  Allegedly, Moses lived to be over 600 so Fauja Singh may be headed for a different kind of record.  In the modern era, the oldest living person was French woman Jeanne Calment who lived to be 122 years, 164 days.  There’s even a name for anyone over 110 years:  supercentenarians.  Must be a reason for believing that everything in moderation is the way to live. 

My grandmother lived to be 99, so I’m hoping the rest of my family is similarly blessed.  As long as I am able to reason and steer clear of dementia, I’m game for living as long as possible.  I think the thing I will miss most about life on earth is the simple pleasure of reading.  With any luck there are libraries in heaven.  I’m pretty sure that there won’t be treadmills in the hereafter so I’ll just have to take care of my body and well-being as long as I’m graced to live, much like the 100 year old marathoner Fauja Singh.

My mother’s cousin once had an brain aneurism, and when doctors told her, “We don’t know why you’re still alive,” she responded that she “had things to do.”  Remind me to keep the same motto, and always have “things to do.”

 

